This website cannot be viewed properly using this version of Internet Explorer.

To ensure your security while viewing this site, please use a modern browser such as Chrome or update to a newer version of Internet Explorer.

Download Chrome (Made by Google)
Update Internet Explorer (Made by Microsoft)

ADA ADA symbol

Court of Appeals

Tribunal de Apelaciones

The Court of Appeals is the intermediate appellate court in the state of New Mexico.

It sits between district courts and certain administrative agencies, which are below it, and the New Mexico Supreme Court, which is above it. Its jurisdiction covers the entire state. The Court of Appeals currently reviews appeals in all cases, except criminal cases involving sentences of death or life imprisonment, appeals from the Public Regulation Commission, and cases involving habeas corpus. The Court's caseload is about 900 cases per year.

The Court has ten judges. Each judge has a paralegal and a law clerk. By law, the judges act in panels of three on all appellate opinions, and agreement of two judges is required. Motions may be acted on by one judge unless the motion goes to the merits of the case, in which case it is decided by a two- or three-judge panel. In addition, the Court has a permanent staff of attorneys. The prehearing division consists of seventeen employees - a chief staff attorney, two senior staff attorneys, thirteen staff attorneys, and one administrative assistant. The clerk's office has a staff of eleven employees - an attorney/chief clerk, two financial staff members, one and one-half administrative assistants, and six clerks. Finally, the Court has a mediation office, consisting of an appellate mediator and a part-time assistant.

The Court has two offices, one in Santa Fe and one in Albuquerque. At this time, the Court's ten judges are located as follows: three judges headquartered in Santa Fe and seven judges headquartered in Albuquerque. The Santa Fe office is in the Supreme Court Building and is the main location of the clerk's office, the prehearing division, and the mediation office. The Albuquerque office is located adjacent to the University of New Mexico School of Law.